PDA

View Full Version : Externally hosted database



HotrodScamp
May 22nd, 2014, 11:40 AM
I have a database server outside of Hostek. I have tried to create a DSN with my connection details and keep receiving an "Unable to establish connection" error. Can I create a DSN for a database not hosted by Hostek? Thank you for your help.

chrisd
May 22nd, 2014, 12:18 PM
HotrodScamp,
Yes you can create a DSN within your control panel with us to connect to an outside database. For your security please create a ticket at "http://support.hostek.com" with the domain this is regarding as well as the DSN information you are using to connect to your external database and we will assist you with resolving this connection issue.

HotrodScamp
May 22nd, 2014, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the quick response. I'll make one more attempt to make sure I haven't entered something incorrectly, and if I still can't connect I'll open a ticket. Thanks again!

chrisd
May 22nd, 2014, 12:41 PM
HotrodScamp,
We are happy to help, please let us know if you need any assistance with this connection.